Sticky Banana and Dark Chocolate Bread

Go on, it’s practically good for you!

Sweet, sticky, gooey, this tea-time loaf is a serious crowd pleaser. Made from mushed bananas, honey, and rich dark chocolate it’s full of goodness, and lots of those thingys with complicated names. Antioxidants? Yess that must be it! Oh and honey is full of B Vitamins, and bananas are full of potassium (I actually revised rather a lot for my Home Economics exam as you can hopefully tell) So you see, it’d be rude not to..

Adapted from a recipe from the amazing Chocolate Covered Katie which had been gathering dust in my ‘must bake’ pile for quite some time. Finally I took the plunge! She refers to her plain banana bread as ‘pajama banana bread’ meaning it would be delicious eaten in your pjs for breakfast. However, for me I take this to mean it would be perfect to bake in your pajamas, (which may I mention is one of my favourite things to do). Sadly I did not bake this bread in my pajamas today, we had visitors over, and I don’t think they’d have appreciated me lounging round the kitchen in my nightwear, even if I did supply them with freshly baked bread afterwards…

Yet I was allowed this luxury a few days ago, and I awoke bright and early, sort of, and began a ‘pajama bake-athon’. Yaaay!

Start time: 10ish. End time: well after 2ish. A morning well spent I  thought, and I was excited to see the look on mum’s face when she arrived home from work and spied the delicious treats I had made… She strode into the kitchen, took one look at my ginormous cake and mountain of cupcakes, and declared ‘Amy, I’m on a diet!!’ (I refrained from shouting, SINCE WHEN?!?)

Aww well, less cake for her meant more for my brother and dad.. a.k.a the human hoovers.

Sticky Banana and Dark Chocolate Bread

*adapted from Chocolate Covered Katie

2 c flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp cinnamon
3/4 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp salt
1/3 c milk (or oil)
1 and 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/2 cup honey
1 and 1/2 T lemon juice
1 T sugar
2 c tightly-packed, mashed banana
100g dark chocolate, roughly chopped

1. Mix dry ingredients in large bowl.

2. In another bowl, combine all wet ingredients.

3. Add wet to dry, and fold in gently, don’t overmix.

4. Add chopped chocolate pieces and fold in.

5. Place in lined or greased loaf tin, and bake at 180oc for 5o mins.

*bread may start to brown on top, whilst still gooey inside, so cover in tin foil and continue to bake.

6. Leave to cool completely before serving.

Enjoy with a slather of butter, or simply plain if you’re trying to be truly good, and sip with a cup of coffee!

Enoy! x

19 thoughts on “Sticky Banana and Dark Chocolate Bread

    • Omg, you have no idea how excited I am, thank you so so much! You are so kind :) I look forward to passing this award on once I get back home and organised!

      And aww nutella would be awesome on it, enjoy!

  1. Yum! that banana cake looks so good! and love that there are chocolate bits in it! I’m a sucker for banana cake! hehe just made one a couple of days ago too! hehe Yours looks perfect! Especially with a cup of tea!

    • Same! You can’t go wrong with banana bread! Hehe, and yess still lovely and warm from the oven, just how I like it! :) thanks so much! X

Leave a Reply

