Pink Velvet Cake with Vanilla Buttercream

A recipe is designed to be tried, tested, loved, altered… and covered in sticky smears.

Not having the right ingredient has never yet deterred me from trying out a recipe I really like the look of. Such was the case with this cake. Unwittingly, I think I just altered the world renowned cake, adored by the masses, the great Red Velvet Cake.

Amy did not have any ‘red’ food colouring in the house, nor did she find any of the essential buttermilk.. so she improvised, and hoped for the best!

Thus, the red turned to pink, and a Pink Velvet cake was taken from the oven. And as for the buttermilk? Well the internet is  a wonderful thing theses days, and a helpful site showed me how to make my own, using white vinegar and normal milk. Hooray!

Oh and did I mention I didn’t cover it in cream cheese frosting either? Yep, another classic totally dismembered..

Deliciously moist and scrummy, this turned out much more successful than I expected, given the circumstances. I must say I was a little skeptical as carefully poured in my homemade ‘vinegar milk’ and pungent white whine vinegar, which thankfully I found hidden away at the back of a cupboard somewhere.

And I feel I need to explain myself over the whole frosting issue.. You see, surprise surprise I don’t happen to keep cream cheese in my fridge on a daily basis either (must add it to my ever growing shopping list along with buttermilk) and being the lactose intolerant girlie that I am, I tend not to consume a whole lot of cheese. I’ll admit, the thought of a cheesy frosting sort of scares me. But I’m sure I will yet be converted! Instead I whipped out the old favourite, fool-proof classic, (which I try not to mess up) Vanilla Buttercream.

This new kinda cake I made up today may just become a new fav, possibly. Or maybe I’ll eventually pluck up the courage, and the right ingredients to attempt the original.

Pink Velvet Cake

*thanks to Rebecca from Guilty Baked Pleasures, this is her yummy recipe!

60g butter at room temperature.
150g Caster Sugar
1 Egg
10g Good quality Cocoa Powder
20ml Pink Food Colouring
1/2 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract
120ml Buttermilk  (if you don’t have Buttermilk like me, you can make it by adding a tablespoon of white wine vinegar to milk. Let it stand for 5 minutes. 1 tablespoon of WW Vinegar to 1 cup milk.
150g Plain Flour
1/2 Teaspoon Salt
1/2 Teaspoon Bicarb of Soda
1 1/2 Teaspoons White Wine Vinegar

Vanilla Buttercream

3oz butter

80z icing sugar

2tbsp milk

1. Beat butter and sugar with electric mixer until a sandy texture. Beat in egg until well combined.

2. In a seperate bowl mix the food colouring, cocoa powder and vanilla until it forms a dark paste. Then add to sugar and butter mixture.

3. Mix well. Add half the butter milk, with mixer on low speed, then half the flour and combine. Repeat with the rest of flour and buttermilk.

4. Add the salt, bicarbonate of soda and vinegar and mix until smooth and and glossy.

5. Divide between cake tins, and bake at 160oc for around 20-25 mins.

6. Allow to cool, and then cover one cake with the buttercream, and place other on top.

7. Apply a thin layer of icing over the top and sides of cake, then place in freezer to harden.

8. Remove from freezer and apply another thin layer of icing on top, and on sides if necessary. Use a turn table and a palette knife if possible, to ensure a smooth even finish.

Bon appetit!

10 thoughts on “Pink Velvet Cake with Vanilla Buttercream

  1. Wish I could dive right into the screen and grab a nice fat slice… I love the pink. Way prettier than the red would’ve been. It’s a good thing you didn’t have the red food colouring :-)

  2. Ohhhhh myyyy this is such a pretty cake :) I really like red velvet cakes so i’m sure i’ll like this even more because I love PINK ~ everything i have is pink hehe can’t wait to try this!

    • Aww thank you so much, you’re very kind :) I had it on my ‘to bake’ list for sooo long too, glad I finally got around to it, hehe

Leave a Reply

